Picture
"I try to capture the complexities on those who are close to me and those who I find inspiring."


Certainly all of these artists have inspired me at their art show last Friday. You certainly missed out if you did not go, it was a fantastic scene and plenty artwork to look at. When you walked in the room, you were overwhelmed by a beautiful installation of thread, paper cranes and flowers hanging from the ceiling. While this was whimsical, it was don in a very sophisticated manner and it unified the three artists styles into one cohesive piece. The walls were covered in their art but instead of each of the artists having one section of the wall they all mixed their work with each other, so that if a person was just coming to see one of the artists, they would end up having to look at everyone else's work to get to their friends. Joanna Gray did paintings and mostly drawings of people, Alex did photography and had a slide show of his digital work, and Jinny had multiple different styles from ceramics, to water colors, to charcoal drawings, to mixed media and all had artists statements that really reflected their work. Joanna's best work, in my opinion, would have to be the one picture above of a girl named Natalia. the work is beautifully done with oil paint and the layering of paint looks amazing close up and beautiful far away. My favorite work of Alex's would have to be all of his slide show pictures. He really pushed the envelope but still made certain photos classy even if they were a bit racy. Jinny's best work I think would have to be her amazing self portrait Acknowledge me because of its interesting angle of focus and the incredible detail she put into it. All of these works are amazing and I am excited to see if they continue with their art. 



Jinny Kang
1/10/2014 12:26:40 am

Thank you so much for helping out Rachel!
You are a sweetheart and I'm so glad that you came to our show.
Thank you for you kind words (;

Reply



Leave a Reply.