My summer work is mainly composed of four mini projects that I personally wanted to see come alive. I had envisioned them the previous year, but with no time to create them, they stayed in my journal, waiting to be called out. So one by one I took my ideas and decided what was feasible to do in my summer and I worked discovering different ways to use thread and perfecting older ones. The string and wood project I made was a redemption process from my first string and canvas work, which in my opinion was a disaster because it had no form. I knew it would look ten thousand times better on wood and in a diagonal shape, so I used different colors of string and Elmer's glue to make the thread have a hard, wiry surface. My thread, hot glue and paper work was a continuation of an earlier project, however I wanted to make them bigger and more work sophisticated, so I used red thread to look classy. For the string and print, that is more of a new concept that I haven't executed until now and my theme for the year, connections. Connections between other people through stares and touch, line of sight or the absence of it is something I want to explore. I want to communicate the personal connections we have with each other, whether intimate



Leave a Reply.